MINUTES MEETING OF THE GRADUATE COUNCIL August 21, 2024

The Graduate Council met on Wednesday, August 21, 2024, at 3:30 p.m. in 327 Brooks Hall.

Members present: Mary Ager, John Bray, Melinda Brindley, Ted Christensen, Jim Conklin, AnnaMarie Conner, Kelly Dyer, Kerstin Emerson, Jaivime Evaristo, Alexa Lamm, Jill Manners, Sheba Mohankumar, Jeff Mullen, Priya Narayanan, Don Nelson, Craig Osenberg, Alison Smith, Phil Stancil, George Vellidis, and Bart Wojdynski. Graduate Student Association: Oliver Levine, Uyi Ugiagbe, and Will Walker. Graduate School: Ron Walcott, Anne Shaffer, Cheri Bliss, Robin Bingham, and Stephanie Hall.

Members absent: Luis Correa-Diaz, Janette Hill, Rebecca Matthew, Yoo-Kyoung Seock, Geoffrey Sheagley, Kenan Song, and Amy Stich.

VP/Dean Ron Walcott called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m.

Dr. Walcott began by having Council members introduce themselves, indicating their school/college, program, length of time at UGA, and new/returning member. He continued with an orientation to Graduate Council to clarify the role of members with clear expectations and how to execute those responsibilities. See accompanying PPT document.

Graduate Council Committee Reports and Action Items

- A. <u>Administrative Committee</u>
 Ron Walcott, Ex Officio Member
 No business to report.
- B. <u>Appeals Committee</u>
 AnnaMarie Conner, Chair
 No business to report.
- C. <u>Policy and Planning Committee</u> Kelly Dyer, Chair No business to report.
- D. <u>Program Committee</u> George Vellidis, Chair No business to report.

Information Items

- A. Curriculum Report: Since April 2024, the Graduate School has approved 59 new courses, 61 course revisions, and 8 deletions.
- B. Next meeting: Wednesday, September 11, 3:30pm, 327 Brooks Hall.

Overall meeting adjourned at 4:00 p.m., and members went into breakout groups by committee.

Graduate Council Orientation



Role of Graduate Council

- □ Represent the Graduate Program Faculty (GPF) in all policy and procedure matters pertaining to graduate education at UGA.
- Policies adopted by the Graduate Council are administered by the Dean of the Graduate School.
- ☐ The Graduate Council functions on behalf of GPF in all matters within the authority of the GPF.
- The GPF may supersede any action of the Graduate Council.
- □ All members of the Graduate Council represent the entire GPF, not only the GPF of the department/program/college/school from which they come.
- Graduate School Dean chairs the Graduate Council but only votes to break ties.
- Graduate Student Association President and two GSA members serve as voting members on Graduate Council.

Graduate Council Operation

- ☐ Graduate Council is comprised of 30 members. One representative from each college/school (totaling 15); one at large member representing the McBee Institute of Higher Education, Institute of Bioinformatics, and Biomedical and Translational Sciences Institute; 11 additional GPF based on college/school GPF/graduate student numbers; and three Graduate Student Association members (GSA President and two elected members).
- □ Each GPF member serves a three-year term; GSA members serve one-year terms.
- ☐ The agenda for each meeting with supporting documentation will be available at least 10 days prior to scheduled meetings and posted on the Graduate School website.
- ☐ The agenda will be set by the Administrative Committee. Additional items may be placed on the agenda by the Graduate School Dean, the Administrative Committee, or by a two-thirds vote of members present at Graduate Council meetings. Suggestions can be submitted to the Administrative Committee for discussion and future inclusion on the agenda by members of Graduate Council, GPF, or graduate students.
- ☐ Graduate Council meetings may be cancelled if there are no agenda items.

Responsibilities of Graduate Council Members

Attend Graduate Council meetings (proxies are not allowed).
Review materials and be prepared to discuss and vote on motions.
Remember that you are representing all GPF and not just those in your academic units.
Communicate changes in Graduate School policies and procedures back to your units and the UGA graduate education community.
Bring agenda items and concerns from the UGA graduate education community back to Graduate Council.
Actively participate in the committees to which you have been assigned.

Administrative Committee

- □ Review Graduate Council processes and recommend modifications as needed.
- Hear petitions for exceptions to Graduate School rules other than those relating to admission and retention.
- Hear appeals of administrative decisions relating to any aspect of the graduate program other than admission and retention.
- Advance Graduate Council agenda items.
- Make recommendations to the Dean and report its activities to the Council.

Members

AnnaMarie Conner (Appeals Chair) Kelly Dyer (PPC Chair)

George Vellidis (Program Chair)

Mary Frances Early College of Education

Franklin College of Arts and Sciences

College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Appeals Committee

Hear appeals from:

applicants denied admission to graduate study.
students denied a change of degree objective by the Graduate School.
students dismissed by the academic unit and/or the Graduate School.
students denied an extension of time requests.
students who have violated the Continuous Enrollment Policy.
students contesting a course grade.
faculty whose membership in the Graduate Program Faculty has been removed or
revoked.

The committee shall make recommendations to the Dean and report its activities to the Graduate Council.

Members

Mary Ager School of Social Work

Ted Christensen Terry College of Business

AnnaMarie Conner (Chair) Mary Frances Early College of Education

Luis Correa-Diaz Franklin College of Arts and Sciences

Kerstin Emerson College of Public Health

Jeff Mullen College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Craig Osenberg School of Ecology

Phil Stancil Franklin College of Arts and Sciences

Amy Stich Louise McBee Institute of Higher Education

Oliver Levine Graduate Student Association – Vice President

Policy and Planning Committee

Work with the Dean to:

- □ Develop strategic initiatives to enhance and re-envision graduate education at UGA.
- Recommend to the *Graduate* Council new Graduate School policies and policy revisions for consideration.

Members

John Bray

Kelly Dyer (Chair)

Janette Hill

Alexa Lamm

Jill Manners

Sheba Mohankumar

Geoffrey Sheagley

Kenan Song

Bart Wojdynski

Will Walker

Franklin College of Arts and Sciences

Franklin College of Arts and Sciences

Mary Frances Early College of Education

College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Mary Frances Early College of Education

College of Veterinary Medicine

School of Public and International Affairs

College of Engineering

Grady College of Journalism

Graduate Student Association – President

Program Committee

- ☐ Review proposals for new degree programs and changes to existing programs.
- Make recommendations to the Council concerning the approval, revision, continuation, or termination of all graduate programs.

Members

Melinda Brindley College of Veterinary Medicine

Jim Conklin Terry College of Business

Jaivime Evaristo Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources

Rebecca Matthew School of Social Work

Priya Narayanan College of Pharmacy

Don Nelson Franklin College of Arts and Sciences

Yoo-Kyoung Seock College of Family and Consumer Sciences

Alison Smith College of Environment and Design

George Vellidis (Chair) College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Uyi Ugiagbe Graduate Student Association – Graduate Student Representative

Graduate School Staff

- □Ron Walcott (Vice Provost/Dean)
- ☐ Anne Shaffer (Associate Dean)
- ☐ Cheri Bliss (Director of Graduate Admissions)
- □ Robin Bingham (Executive Assistant to the Dean)
- ☐ Stephanie Hall (Assistant to the Associate Dean)